Guanacaste

Enterolobium cyclocarpum

Trade Names

Guanacaste, Kelobra, Perota, Jenisero

Similar Woods

Origin

Central and South America

Range

North of Mexico to Venezuela and Columbia. Guanacaste mainly grows in the subtropical rain forests.

Uses

Guanacaste is relatively unknown to the veneer industry and is practically unused as veneer outside of Middle and South America. It is of local relevance as construction wood as well as for furniture production.

Properties

The coarse-pored, relatively light-weighted wood is of medium durability and is considered to be resistant to dry rot and termite infestation. The trunks reach up to 40 m in height while gaining diameters of up to 3 m. After processing, the Guanacaste wood shows good sturdiness. Processing must be done with caution as wood shavings as well as sawdust can cause skin irritation.

Machining

In general, Enterolobium cyclocarpum can be worked easily with all kinds of mechanical tools and shows smooth and lustrous surfaces in the end. Caution is called for when the wood is under high tension resulting from wrong drying as rough and fuzzy surfaces may result in that case.

Seasoning

The Guanacaste species usually dries slowly with a shrinkage of approx. 2% in radius and 5.2% tangentially. As is the case with many other wood species, the technical drying process of the Guanacaste wood, belonging to the family of the Mimosaceaen, should always be watched carefully.

Finishing

Smooth and lustrous surfaces can easily be achieved with proper tools. Surface finishing of dried wood with tension, however, causes problems.

Jointing

Problem-free.
102
Login

Guanacaste

Enterolobium cyclocarpum

Handelsnamen

Guanacaste, Kelobra, Perota, Jenisero

Ähnlich

Ursprungsland

Mittel- und Südamerika

Vorkommen

Guanacaste wächst vom nördlichen Mexiko bis nach Venezuela und Kolumbien in subtropischen Regenwäldern.

Verwendung

Das Holz ist in der Furnierindustrie relativ unbekannt, außerhalb Mittel- und Südamerikas findet es als Furnier so gut wie keine Verwendung. Es hat lokale Bedeutung als Bauholz und als Schnittholz für die Möbelproduktion.

Eigenschaften

Das grobporige, relativ leichte Holz ist von mittlerer Dauerhaftigkeit und gilt als widerstandsfähig gegenüber Holzfäule und Termitenbefall. Die Stämme können bis zu 40 m hoch werden und erreichen dabei einen Durchmesser bis ca. 3 m. Nach der Verarbeitung zeigt das Holz ein gutes Stehvermögen. Vorsicht ist bei der Bearbeitung geboten, da Sägespäne und Holzstaub Hautreizungen hervorrufen können.

Mechanisch

Lässt sich im Allgemeinen mit allen Werkzeugen leicht bearbeiten. Das Resultat sind geschmeidige, stark glänzende Flächen. Achtzugeben ist bei Holz, das durch falsche technische Trocknung unter hoher Spannung steht. Unter Umständen ergeben sich beim Hobeln und Schleifen raue, wollige Oberflächen.

Trocknung

Guanacaste trocknet in der Regel langsam und schwindet dabei ca. 2% radial und ca. 5,2% tangential. Die Trocknung sollte stets überwacht werden.

Oberfläche

Mit den entsprechenden Werkzeugen lassen sich problemlos geschmeidige, hoch glänzende Oberflächen erzielen. Lediglich nicht spannungsfrei getrocknetes Holz bereitet bei der Bearbeitung seiner Oberfläche Probleme.

Verleimung

Die Verleimung von Guanacaste ist problemlos.
102
Anmelden