Iroko

Chlorophora excelsa

Trade Names

Iroko, Kambala, African Teak

Similar Woods

Teak, Doussie

Origin

West, Central and East Africa

Range

West and Central Africa, e.g. in Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Nigeria, Cameroon etc.. Here, trees are partly growing in the tropical lower rain forests. Most frequently, however, Iroko is native to the tropical, semi-deciduous rain forests and tropical, humid, rain-green forests.

Uses

In its countries of origin, Iroko is used as construction wood in boatbuilding and for furniture. Due to its abundance, Iroko rather ranks among the low-priced veneers and is consequently used and demanded more often in price-sensitive countries. Rather insigni cant as veneer in Europe. Nevertheless, it is often used for parquet ooring and outdoor terraces because of its durability.

Properties

The consistently yellowish brown wood is not very decorative, however, has good dimensions and widths. Very resistant to pest-infestation, however, as opposed to real teak, not entirely. The saw dust of Iroko is considered to be deleterious, in England even as carcinogenic.

Machining

This wood species can be worked well. Due to mineral inclusions in the pores, carbide tipped tools have to be used, otherwise tools become dull quickly. Iroko can, however, be sliced, grinded and planed easily. Moreover, it is well-suited for turning. Pre-drilling of screw and nail joints is recommended

Seasoning

Iroko can be kiln-dried without dif culty. Nonetheless, same should be carried out carefully. The wood shows an excellent stability and only a slight tendency to check and warp.

Finishing

Surface treatment with lacquers is complicated. Repeatedly, varnish irregularities occur. Therefore, it is recommended to pre-clean the surface with nitro thinner and to possibly apply barrier layers.

Jointing

Gluing is partly dif cult as there are thyloses and inclusions in the wood and, therefore, glue cannot be absorbed properly. Preferably, synthetic adhesives are to be used.
018
Login

Iroko

Chlorophora excelsa

Handelsnamen

Iroko, Kambala, African Teak

Ähnlich

Ursprungsland

West-, Mittel- und Ostafrika

Vorkommen

Iroko findet sich in vielen Ländern West- und Zentralafrikas. So z.B. in Sierra Leone, Liberia, Elfenbeinküste, Ghana, Togo, Nigeria, Kamerun und vielen mehr. Zum Teil hat es sich dort in den tropischen unteren Regenwäldern angesiedelt. Am Häufigsten jedoch, findet die Gattung Chlorophora excelsa in den tropischen, halbimmergrünen Regenwäldern und den tropischen, feuchten, regengrünen Wäldern ihre Heimat.

Verwendung

Iroko wird in seinen Ursprungsländern als Konstruktionsholz, im Boots- und Möbelbau eingesetzt. Aufgrund seiner Häufigkeit gehört Iroko eher zu den preiswerten Furnieren und wird daher eher in preissensitiven Ländern verwendet und nachgefragt. In Europa als Furnier eher bedeutungslos. Wird allerdings gerne im Parkett- und Außenterrassenbau eingesetzt, da es sehr dauerhaft ist.

Eigenschaften

Das einheitlich gelblich-braune Holz ist relativ wenig dekorativ, man findet jedoch gute Dimensionen und Breiten. Sehr resistent gegen Pilz und Insektenbefall, jedoch im Gegensatz zu echtem Teak nicht vollständig. Der Holzstaub von Iroko gilt als gesundheitsschädlich, in England sogar als karzinogen.

Mechanisch

Gut zu bearbeiten. Aufgrund von mineralischen Einschlüssen in den Poren ist es jedoch wichtig hartmetallbestückte Werkzeuge zu verwenden. Iroko ist einfach messerbar und kann ebenso gut geschliffen und gehobelt werden. Schraub- und Nagelverbindungen müssen vorgebohrt werden.

Trocknung

Problemlos. Gutes Stehvermögen, zeigt lediglich geringe Neigung zum Reißen und Werfen.

Oberfläche

Die Oberflächenbehandlung mit Lacken gestaltet sich bei dieser Holzart als kompliziert. Immer wieder treten Lackschädigungen auf. Daher wird geraten, die zu lackierende Fläche zuvor mit Nitro-Verdünnung zu reinigen und evtl. Sperrschichten aufzutragen.

Verleimung

Thyllen und Einlagerungen erschweren die optimale Aufnahme von Leim. Bevorzugt sollten synthetische Klebstoffe eingesetzt werden.
018
Login