Olive

Olea europea

Trade Names

Olive, Genuine Olive

Similar Woods

---

Origin

Olivetree is one of the oldest cultigen in the world. As its cultivation had already started in prehistoric times, it is not possible any more to reconstruct the borders of its natural growing range. In principle though, the Mediterranean area can be seen as the area in question.

Range

Entire Mediterranean area. Most of the time, Olivetrees do not grow straight and are knotty. They can reach a height up to 20 m in the south, whereas they stay smaller in the northern parts. As the main use of the Olivetree is the oil extraction, appreciation of its wood itself is totally insignificant. Consequently, usable lengths of more than 1 meter are very rarely to be found.

Uses

Usually, the very decorative Olive wood is used for arts and crafts. In Spain and Italy, local importance for the veneer industry in lengths up to 1 m, i.e. mainly used for inlays and occasional furniture there. Veneer lengths exceeding 220 cm are extremely rare and consequently expensive. These are only used for decorative interior work.

Properties

The wood is of a yellowish basic shade and is extremely decorative due to fine dark veins spreading irregularly over the surface, thus creating a beautiful effect when larger surfaces are concerned. Frequent checking, however, extremely complicates the manufacturing process of this wood .

Machining

Difficult, due to the frequent irregular direction of fiber growth and the extreme hardness of the wood.

Seasoning

Very problematic due to frequent checking and cell collapse. Must be dried very slowly.

Finishing

Varnishes present no difficulties.

Jointing

Difficult at times due to oil inclusion in the wood. Attention must be paid to avoid checking.
032
Login

Olive

Olea europea

Handelsnamen

Olive, Echte Olive

Ähnlich

---

Ursprungsland

Olive gehört zu den ältesten Kulturpflanzen der Alten Welt. Da die Kultivierung schon in vorgeschichtlicher Zeit begann, gelingt es nicht mehr, die Grenzen der natürlichen Verbreitung zu rekonstruieren. Im Prinzip jedoch kann der Mittelmeerraum als natürliches Verbreitungsgebiet angenommen werden.

Vorkommen

Im gesamten Mittelmeergebiet. Olivenbäume sind meist krummwüchsig und knorrig, im Süden können sie bis zu 20 m hoch werden, im Norden bleiben sie kleiner. Da der Hauptnutzen der Olive in der Ölgewinnung liegt, ist die Wertholzerzeugung untergeordnet und völlig unbedeutend, dementsprechend selten sind Olivenbäume mit größerer Nutzlänge als 1 m.

Verwendung

In der Regel wird das sehr dekorative Olivenholz für die Herstellung von Kunstgegenständen genutzt. Lokale Bedeutung in Spanien und Italien für die Furnierindustrie in Längen bis 1 m, Nutzung im Wesentlichen für Intarsien und Kleinmöbel. Furnierlängen über 220 cm sind außerordentlich selten und dementsprechend teuer. Diese werden nur im dekorativen Innenausbau verwendet.

Eigenschaften

Das im Grundton gelbliche Holz ist durch feine dunkle Adern, die sich unregelmäßig über die Fläche ziehen, hochdekorativ und ergibt wunderschöne Effekte bei größeren Flächen. Häufige Rissbildung erschwert jedoch die Verarbeitung enorm.

Mechanisch

Durch den oft unregelmäßigen Faserverlauf und die große Härte des Olivenholzes ist die mechanische Bearbeitung schwierig.

Trocknung

Sehr problematisch, da starke Neigung zur Rissbildung und zum Zellkollaps. Die Trocknung muss sehr langsam durchgeführt werden.

Oberfläche

Lacke werden problemlos angenommen.

Verleimung

Durch Öleinlagerung im Holz kann es zu Problemen kommen. Auch muss darauf geachtet werden, dass keine Risse entstehen.
032
Anmelden